Maine cannabis and marijuana license is in law since 2016. However, recreational marijuana retailers got the license to operate freely in 2020. Note that you still have to contact your local municipality and check whether all license types are eligible or not.
It may seem a little confusing for you right now. But don’t worry! This article is here to cover every detail of Maine cannabis and marijuana license.
Currently, some cannabis and marijuana licenses fully operate in Maine. Below you can find some of those license types.
Even though marijuana consumption and trade are generally legal in Maine, there are still some limitations. Some of those limitations are:
You can find all application forms regarding different types of Maine marijuana and cannabis licenses on the Office of Marijuana Policy website.
Looking for a license for adult-use cannabis in Maine? Below are all the stages of the application process.
First, you can only get a conditional license, which is valid for a year. After the conditional license, you will then be eligible to apply for the active license. To receive the conditional license, you have to:
Note that a local authorization is the same as an active license. Therefore, you should check with your local authorities the eligibility of your conditional license. If you receive a letter of approval, after 10 days you will be asked to submit some additional documentation.
Those supplementary documents are:
If all documents are satisfactory, you will receive a notification to make a payment. After the successful payment, the OMP will issue an active license for a year.
If you are looking to obtain a Maine marijuana grower license, you should have no more than 3 grower licenses. Also, none of them should have operations of more than 300,000 square feet. You should be ready to pay for the license according to the size of your planned cultivation. You should pay excise taxes, as well.
Maine marijuana grower license is divided into 4 tiers. The tiers differ based on the planned cultivation sizes.
To receive a Maine marijuana grower license, you should be registered as a “cultivation facility”. That means that you have the right to purchase marijuana and cannabis seeds and plants. You may also cultivate, prepare, package, sell marijuana to adults. If you have the license of a cultivation facility, you can start preparing your operation plan. The plan includes, but is not limited to:
After paying all required application fees, your application will enter the review stage. However, we realize the process is quite tiresome. That is why we offer you several business license packages to save your time and effort.
Maine marijuana manufacturer license differs from a grower license. You can receive this license if you represent a facility that:
If you meet these criteria, you can enter the application stage. You should fill in several applications and pay a $250 application fee. The license fee is $2500.
After receiving the license, you should strongly follow the below-mentioned requirements.
Above all, you must have the license to acquire and sell adult-use marijuana to third parties and other retailer stores. If you have the appropriate license, you can go ahead with your application. You can find the list of all applications on the website of the state of Maine.
However, there are certain limitations on the types of products that you can sell.
Additionally, make sure to submit the application as soon as possible. The competition is not very high in the state. That will give you the opportunity of being one of the first retailer businesses. Hence, the advantage of greater brand recognition.
If you are looking for a Maine marijuana dispensary license, your cannabis establishment should not be located in towns or plantations.
The steps of acquiring a Maine marijuana dispensary license are the same as those of the general application process. The three steps are:
The Department of Administrative and Financial Services of Maine is responsible for all the above-mentioned steps.
The process of receiving a Maine medical marijuana license is easy and fast. The division of licensing and regulatory services of Maine has created an online platform. All licensed medical physicians are registered there. They can grant medical marijuana consumption licenses to their patients. If the physician approves the application, the patient will receive a printed standard certification.
As well as, the state of Maine allows patients from other states with a medical marijuana license to buy cannabis in Maine. So there is no need for a separate Maine MMJ license. This regulation helps patients feel more comfortable and flexible.
If your previous records are clear, the application for a Maine medical marijuana license is a very easy and fast process. However, you need to have a diagnosis of one of the following conditions to receive the license.
In Maine, the physician is eligible to examine your situation and determine whether you are eligible for a medical marijuana license or not. If the physician confirms your eligibility, you have to register with the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program (MMMP). The application status update, as a rule, takes several hours to appear. It is connected with the severity of your symptoms and the qualification of your physician.
After the status is updated, the physician will provide you with “tamper-proof” of a medical marijuana license certificate. With this proof, you can buy marijuana from licensed medical dispensaries.
For the physician to grant you a medical marijuana license proof, you need to bring with yourself the following documents:
The application fee is a fixed cost of $100. However, the consultation with the physician can vary from $200 to $300. After the payments are made, the license will be valid for a year.